Dark weekend

Time to update you guys. To be honest I don’t really want to but what kind of man would I be if I only share my succes stories. So here goes…

Friday I failed the flight test. He gave me 2 reasons: one was that I flew the steep turns at a too high speed. I never heared of that, but fair enough, we don’t want to strain the aircraft unecessarily (reason to fail though?). The other was that I flew the forced landing pattern at the best glide speed, out of habit. Apparently the speed for manouvering without engine power is 90 knots, flaps up. That was new to me, but it is in the POH.

So on Monday I did a training flight with Stefan, our training captain, to do some more steep turns and forced landings. All went fine there. A few hours later I took the test again and … failed it. No exuses this time, I just stuffed up the forced landing again. Why? I’m not even sure. I guess I keep over-estimating the gliding capabilities. I think I also underestimated the wind at altitude a bit. Maybe the fact that I haven’t flown a C210 left seat for 2,5 years has something to do with it….

This afternoon I should get another training flight, to do some more steep turns and forced landings. I just hope the stress doesn’t get to me on my next and final test flight.

2 thoughts on “Dark weekend

Leave a Reply

